Author Interview

 

I had the pleasure of doing my very first author interview with a good friend of mine. It was a lot of fun to do and I might make it a new feature on my blog. I love getting into the minds of authors to see what makes them click.

My first interview goes to Sci-fi author M. Sydnor Jr. who has multiple books published that tempts you to expand your mind to this new world he has built. Let’s get into it.

Author Interview

earth legend

Tell me about your current book?

Earth Legend is a book about soul-searching. William’s journey to the truth behind his newfound supernatural abilities while still searching for a purpose to his everyday life. The power he receives ultimately affects those around him; friends, family, bullies at school and really expands the story from his point of view to his friends and family. It’s full of action, adventure, drama, even romance with some history added in. The setting is in Los Leyendas, Ca (fictional city), a young city on the rise.

Did you know before writing this series, that is was to be in the Sci-Fi genre?

Most definitely, it is my favorite genre to read in books and watch on tv/in movies… I’ve always been told I had a weird and wild imagination… I wanted to put that to the test with Earth Legend.

 What makes this genre so special to you?

There is so much freedom with this genre (Sci-Fi/Urban Fantasy). I believe it is the only genre that can remain loyal to its category with the addition of Drama or Romance or Horror. With this genre, you can create and write about anything and everything with no limits.

How long does it take for you write a book?

The outline, the writing, the editing — Earth Legend took about 18 months. Other projects – after the outline, before the writing begins, I usually give myself a deadline between 14 – 24 months.

What was your favorite chapter or scene to write in Earth Legend Series?

I had a lot of fun writing the Jerry and Missy scenes. There isn’t one particular scene with the two of them that stand out; all of them were great fun. Their relationship is extremely complex and from book one to book two, the intensity and tension increases.

Who is your favorite character, and why?

William is my favorite character. There is a lot of me in William; shy, quiet, laid back, corny, tall, athletic, he is a dreamer and is the heart of the Earth Legend Series. Without him, there is no story, there is no Earth Legend. He is the obvious choice, of course. Missy, the smart-mouthed red head, is a close second. Her tongue is super wicked and backs down from no one, not even her parents.

Describe the world you created in your book, using only five words?

An unpredictable world of chaos.

What is the most exciting part about writing the Earth Legend series?

The action scenes mentally drain me, because I put my all into the distinct powers and abilities that I give my characters. I try to impress myself and do things no one else has ever done. I get a lot of excitement from that. I have a bunch of cool superpower ideas up my sleeve.

What would you like the readers feel when they finish reading?

When they finish reading Earth Legend, I want them to crave for Earth Legend Red and so on from there. I want them to feel anger, sadness, happiness, excitement, fear. I want to stress the hell out of my readers after each chapter. I want them to be emotionally drained after each book.

 

Speed Round:

Pantser (no preplanning) or Plotter (outliner)?

Plotter

Longhand or Shorthand writing?

Longhand

E-book or Print?

Print

Action or Romance?

Action

Adult or Young Adult novels?

Young Adult

Second Favorite Genre?

Horror

Favorite Author?

M. Sydnor Jr. & Stephen King

Advice to new writers?

Write to please yourself and not others.

 

Thank you for taking time out to answer some questions!

 

Where can you reach him?

FACEBOOK:

https://www.facebook.com/EarthLegend

https://www.facebook.com/TeamEarthLegend

 

TWITTER:

https://twitter.com/MSydnorJr

https://twitter.com/teamearthlegend

 

WEBSITE:

http://www.telpublishing.com/

AMAZON:

http://www.amazon.com/Earth-Legend-M-Sydnor-Jr/dp/0615643957/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1396569622&sr=8-1&keywords=earth+legend

 

 

~I.L.U*

Quanisha

Speak with Light.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

New Beginnings Doula Training

Online, Professional Classes in Doula Training and Certification

New World Witchery - the Search for American Traditional Witchcraft

A show about magic and witchcraft in North America

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Invisible Ink

What color are you written in?

Witchery Press

Magick Lives Here

Of Gods and Angels

A Christopagan turned Lokean. The ups and downs of Angels and Polytheism.

Ayslyn's Corner

all paths lead to the same mountain top

élan vital

The creative within responsible for growth and change.

M. Sydnor Jr.

Author - Editor - Publisher

Renee "Soul Writer" Brooks

Intuitive Guide | Self-Published Author | Creator Of Spirit & Muse | Mommy Of 1

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

MARZIA'S LIFE.

My online diary of moments and memories.

The Kimama Migration

A Butterfly's Quest Through Life

Vers Les Etoiles

“The wide world is all about you: you can fence yourselves in, but you cannot forever fence it out.” J.R.R. Tolkien

Abigail Gibbs

The Books

Author Franny Marie

Author of a Mystery Thriller Novella Trilogy. Initiation was released on 5/15. Innocence will be released on 6/16 .

