31 Days…Day Nineteen

31 dayz orignal

 

Day Nineteen: Write an Obituary for a Historical Figure.

 

 

You were once wild here. Don’t let them tame you!

The quote made me pause.  Tempted, I read it again, slowly absorbing each word as one would enjoy the taste of chocolate.
Eyes wide I proclaimed, “This!”

This was what I needed to read. I dropped the pen and clutched my journal close. I felt like I had been tamed by society’s expectations. I was a college student with no idea about her future and I felt forced to pick something amazing to do. Some career that would show off some of my scholarship earned smarts. I felt confined to the behavior of adulthood even though I was just twenty-one.

These were supposed to be my wild years, my irresponsible years and I was wasting them by living a tame life. And I shouldn’t and I wouldn’t, not anymore. I released the scripted journal.

Don’t let them tame you!

“Don’t you worry,” I patted the quoted paper. “I won’t let them, not anymore.”

I needed my fire back alongside my responsibility. There had to be a balance between the two. A balance between these stacks of assignments and the bottle of hidden vodka.

I had an assignment to write an obituary about an historical figure and I wanted her. Isadora Duncan. Who knew I would find it in the beginning of my journal entry. I jumped out of my bed and ran to my desk. I needed to know more.

Once the room quit spinning from my jolt up, I readied myself on the keyboard. Google search led me further into the life of my inspiration. She was a dancer, of course, I shook my head with a smile on my face.

“What’s more freeing than dancing?” I asked my room.

For a few minutes I endured the longing that Isadora Duncan presented in my heart. Reading of her life, besides the unfortunate accident that caused her death, made me want to get up and do something.

“Screw tame, get ready world for a brand new me…right after this paper is finished.”

 

**

Next Tuesday, a combination of Day Twenty and Twenty One.

Wk 3 Prompts

~I.L.U*

Quanisha A. McGruder

2 thoughts on “31 Days…Day Nineteen

Add yours

Speak with Light.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

New Beginnings Doula Training

Online, Professional Classes in Doula Training and Certification

New World Witchery - the Search for American Traditional Witchcraft

A show about magic and witchcraft in North America

Milly Schmidt

The Cat's Write

Invisible Ink

What color are you written in?

Witchery Press

Magick Lives Here

Of Gods and Angels

A Christopagan turned Lokean. The ups and downs of Angels and Polytheism.

Ayslyn's Corner

all paths lead to the same mountain top

élan vital

The creative within responsible for growth and change.

M. Sydnor Jr.

Author - Editor - Publisher

Renee "Soul Writer" Brooks

Intuitive Guide | Self-Published Author | Creator Of Spirit & Muse | Mommy Of 1

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

MARZIA'S LIFE.

My online diary of moments and memories.

The Kimama Migration

A Butterfly's Quest Through Life

Vers Les Etoiles

“The wide world is all about you: you can fence yourselves in, but you cannot forever fence it out.” J.R.R. Tolkien

Abigail Gibbs

The Books

Author Franny Marie

Author of a Mystery Thriller Novella Trilogy. Initiation was released on 5/15. Innocence will be released on 6/16 .

